(left to right) Wayne Brackett, Youth Market Manager, Coca-Cola of Spartanburg, Makayla Roberts, Leslie Guy, Haley Bramblett, Kyle Hatley, Christina Jackson & Dr. Scott Turner, Superintendent of District Five Schools

  iRecycle Finalists and Winner:

In April 2008, District Five Schools of Spartanburg County, Spartanburg Coca-Cola Bottling Company United, Inc. (SCCBCU) and United Resource Recovery Corporation (URRC) announced that Christina Jackson, an 8th grader at Florence Chapel Middle School, is the winner of the recycling program naming contest.

Christina proposed the name iRecycle for the recycling program developed by District Five Schools, SCCBC and URRC which encourages Spartanburg residents to deposit used beverage containers in specially-designed recycling bins rather than tossing them in the trash.

PDF of complete press release.

iRecycle website